The Executive Board of Directors is the governing body of the Association. It is comprised of 20 leaders in the domestic exhibition industry — eleven automatic seats are held by representatives of the top eight circuits by screen count in the U.S./Canada; four seats are elected to represent regional/mid-sized circuits (75 or more screens, but not “top eight”); four seats are elected to represent independent theaters (fewer than 75 screens); and one seat is elected from representatives of NATO’s certified regional associations. Four volunteer Officers of the Association (see below) are elected from and by the members of the Executive Board.

NATO’s structure is designed to encourage member participation in the activities, benefits and deliberations of the Association. NATO has an Advisory Board comprised of more than 100 representatives of the domestic and international exhibition community who come together to deliberate on exhibition issues, study and promulgate best practices, and make policy recommendations to the Executive Board of Directors.